Rosberg’s Triumph Makes the Grand Finale Even More Interesting



Share This Post!
Rosberg hit his fifth win of the season and the eighth of his career, at the Interlagos. The German came into the finish line, a whole second before his teammate, Lewis Hamilton, while the third place went to Felipe Massa of the Williams team.

Rosberg led almost all the time in Brazil (except during the visits to the box), and at the last moment, he managed to resist the Hamilton’s rushing. The British driver was in the middle of the race, when he made the mistake which cost him the number 1 spot. Hamilton flew off the track and found himself seven seconds behind teammate, which proved to be impossible to compensate.

Massa finished in third place despite penalty for speeding during the entry into the box. This has been his best result since his move to the team Williams. The Brazilian had a fairly quiet race as he was forty seconds behind the Mercedes duo, and almost eight in front of Jenson Button from McLaren. Button drove one of his best races of the season, since he finished better than the last year’s champion, Sebastian Vettel and both of the Ferrari drivers, Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen, as well.

Rosberg brought Mercedes the 15th team victory of the season, making the German with McLaren and Ferrari in the number of wins per season. The first record they broke was the one set in 1988 by Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost from McLaren, who won 14 races, same as Michael Schumacher and Rubens Barrichello in 2004 as drivers of the team Ferrari.

The other record, the Mercedes super duo set is surpassing Prost and Senna record of ten double triumphs in a year. However, the record might not be too impressive, having in mind that this season, there are 19 rounds, unlike in the 90’s, when Prost and Senna were in the spotlight.

Thanks to this victory, Rosberg has reduced his deficit in the general rankings in relation to Hamilton. At this point, the difference is 17 points, which means the GP Abu Dhabi is going to be the real grand finale. In the last race of the season, drivers will be awarded double points, which means that champion is still undecided.

Driver standings:

1. Lewis Hamilton 334
2. Nico Rosberg 317
3. Daniel Ricciardo 214
4. Sebastian Vettel 159
5. Fernando Alonso 157
6. Valter Botas 156

Team standings:
1. Mercedes 651
2. Red Bull 373
3. Williams 254
4. Ferrari 210

"Rosberg’s Triumph Makes the Grand Finale Even More Interesting" User Comments

No comments posted yet.
What are your comments on this post?